The 2016 FTD Caregiver Conference was held on Friday, May 20, 2016. Here is a brief look back on the day. A big thank you for those who were able to join us.

Conference Fast Facts

  • Number of people in attendance: 200
  • Increase from 2015 conference: 104 more attendees
  • First time attendees: 56%
  • Returning attendees: 44%
  • Number of states represented: 17
  • Farthest traveled: 2,492 miles (from Las Vegas, NV)
  • Attendees who were current or past caregivers: 46%
  • Attendees who learned about the conference from the Penn FTD Center Newsletter: 19%
  • Would recommend the Caregiver Conference to others: 99%
  • Rated the Smilow Conference space as “Excellent”: 86%
  • Rated the warmth and helpfulness of the Penn FTD Center Staff as “Excellent”: 81%

Words of advice and encouragement from caregivers

“My best advice is to take this journey one moment at a time and understand it is like being on a roller coaster.”

“The best advice I have received is to take care of myself as much as possible, to be kind and compassionate towards myself and to ‘get our affairs in order’. The advice and direction from Paul Feldman who is an excellent attorney as well as a man with great understanding and compassion.”

“The best advice I ever was given was from a doctor in Switzerland who told me that my behavior would have a big impact on my husband’s behavior.  I found this to be true and very useful.”

“I volunteered to be an Ambassador to assure caregivers they are not alone. There is always someone to talk to through the long goodbye.”

“Thanks for a wonderful day.  The conference was as always so inspiring and informative and I left feeling very renewed and energized.”

Photo montage

